These are investments we are enthusiastic about.

The companies we are interested in operate in stable markets, have promising market positions, and are run profitably. Our two Novum Capital funds have 225 million euros of assets under management. We use these funds to implement succession plans, carve-outs, majority holdings, minority holdings – and above all to achieve growth and the best possible crisis resilience. We also manage complex investment scenarios in the best interests of the company.

  • Where Oscar winners go to make great films

    Founded in 1991, MMC Studios operates one of Europe’s largest and most modern film and TV studio facilities, the “Coloneum” in Cologne-Ossendorf. MMC Studios is Germany’s leading full-service provider for TV shows, TV series, and motion pictures. In addition, the studio site is regularly used for corporate events, trade fairs, eSports and gaming events. MMC Studios also offers its complete range of services off-premises.

    In 2019, Novum Capital acquired both MMC and Crosscast, an outside broadcasting and eSports specialist, and merged the two companies. Novum Capital was able to acquire MMC Studios in a swift auction process under the terms set out in the initial letter of intent.

    Industry
    Entertainment
    Invested
    Since 2019
    Situation
    Acquired from a private equity fund at auction
    Sales
    44 million euros (2019)
    Employees
    115 (2019)
  • Because sweet delights are always tasty

    Founded in 1956, the Schluckwerder Group is the leading manufacturer of marzipan, nougat and chocolate specialities for the German retail industry. Rich in tradition, Lübeck-based marzipan manufacturer Erasmi & Carstens from 1845 also belongs to the group. Schluckwerder’s products are part of the core assortment in retail chains such as Lidl, Aldi, Penny, and Netto. The company has more than 550 employees and sells its confectionery products in 44 countries. Its production facilities are located in the North German towns of Adendorf and Lübeck.

    Concurrently with the closing of the transaction, Novum Capital appointed a new management team, consisting of CEO, COO, and CFO. This allowed former shareholder Rolf Schluckwerder to retire, as was his wish.

    Industry
    Confectionery
    Invested
    Since 2019
    Situation
    Succession planning
    Sales
    99 million euros (2019)
    Employees
    556 (2019)
  • Where waste slag is suddenly worth its weight in gold

    Founded in 1969, C.C. Umwelt is one of the leading full-service providers for the disposal and recycling of incineration waste. Its very stable core business consists of the disposal, reprocessing, and recycling of waste incineration slags, the disposal of flue gas cleaning mass (filter dust) from waste incineration plants, and the processing and disposal of special mineral waste. C.C. Umwelt is based in Krefeld and operates further sites in Hagen, Würzburg, Schwandorf, Bleicherode/Sollstedt, Hamm, and Menteroda. The company is the only German filter dust disposal company with proprietary access to a backfill mine, where it can store waste in a way that is environmentally safe in the long-term.

    By recovering approximately 70 000 tonnes of metal annually (including iron, aluminium, copper, gold, and silver) from the processing of slags and mineral wastes C.C. Umwelt reduces greenhouse gas emissions by about half a million tonnes per year compared to metal production from primary raw material sources. In addition, the reuse of approximately 950 000 tonnes of C.C. Umwelt’s materials as secondary construction materials reduces the annual mining volume of mineral raw materials such as gravel or sand and lowers landfill consumption accordingly.

    Novum Capital has performed a legal and organisational realignment of the C.C. Umwelt group of companies, modernised its technology, and refocused the company on its core business.

    Industry
    Incinerator bottom ash treatment
    Invested
    Since 2018
    Situation
    Acquisition from six foundations
    Sales
    65 million euros (2019)
    Employees
    120 (2019)
  • Because protecting the environment is a lasting trend

    Founded in 1986, VulkaTec Riebensahm is Germany’s leading manufacturer of volcanic planting substrates (e.g. for roof greening and tree rehabilitation) as well as volcanic industrial raw material products (e.g. filtration of drinking water and wastewater, noise protection, and surface treatment). Based in Kretz/Andernach, the company operates a further six sites in Germany as well as five locations in neighbouring countries.

    Novum Capital paved the way for an effective succession plan for shareholder Dirk Riebensahm and helped the company to achieve a profitable 50 percent growth in revenues and workforce during the investment period. In March 2020, Novum Capital sold VulkaTec to family-run business Bauder. With 1 066 employees and annual sales of 675 million euros (2019), Bauder is Germany’s leading manufacturer of flat-roof systems.

    Industry
    Urban and roof greening
    Invested
    2015 to 2020
    Situation
    Succession planning with complex shareholder structure
    Sales
    25 million euros (2019)
    Employees
    75 (2019)
  • Where skin is successfully treated

    The PsoriSol dermatology clinic in Hersbruck near Nuremberg is the largest acute-care, inpatient dermatology clinic in Germany, and one of the top-performing dermatology clinics in Europe. The clinic was included in the official hospital plan of the Free State of Bavaria in 2008, has 150 beds, and treats more than 4 000 inpatients per year. Treatments focus on inflammatory skin diseases such as psoriasis, neurodermatitis, and tumours.

    As a hospital included in the Bavarian hospital plan in accordance with Section 108 of Book V of the German Code of Social Law (Sozialgesetzbuch), PsoriSol is authorised to set up ambulatory healthcare centres (Medizinische Versorgungszentren).

    Industry
    Healthcare
    Invested
    2018 to 2019
    Situation
    Succession planning
    Sales
    13 million euros (2018)
    Employees
    132 (2018)
  • Because good food needs great packaging

    Founded in 1966, ES-Plastic produces food packaging such as trays, lids, cups, sorting inserts, and foils – primarily for ready meals and fresh meat. ES-Plastic is the market leader in polypropylene trays for use in modified atmosphere packaging (MAP). The MAP system extends the shelf life of packaged food products.

    Novum Capital restructured the company after the takeover and regained the trust of customers such as Tönnies, Wiesenhof, Kaufland, and Edeka. Thus, ES-Plastic became fit for the future again. The company now belongs to the French Proplast Packaging Group, which was able to improve its competitive position in Europe through the acquisition of ES-Plastic.

    Industry
    Food packaging
    Invested
    2012 to 2014
    Situation
    Carve-out from insolvent Swiss corporation
    Sales
    41 million euros (2014)
    Employees
    241 (2014)
  • Silently successful in loud areas

    FAIST ChemTec produces anti-drumming sheets for the attenuation of loud noises. Among others, they are installed in cars, machines, or household appliances (“white goods”). FAIST ChemTec has manufacturing sites in Germany, Poland, Spain, and the USA. The company's European market share at the time of acquisition in 2010 was 60 percent.

    The acquired business division previously belonged to automotive supplier AKsys, which was in bankruptcy at the time of the transaction. However, the anti-drumming division was highly profitable and suitable for independent development. Novum Capital enabled entrepreneur Michael Faist together with a co-investor, private equity company Hannover Finanz, to spin off the anti-drumming division into an independent company and successfully reposition it. The purchase was completed in record time and the company subsequently developed very successfully. Today, FAIST ChemTec is part of the Swiss building materials group Sika, which manufactures construction chemicals such as sealants and adhesives.

    Industry
    Automotive, household appliances
    Invested
    2010 to 2012
    Situation
    Carve-out from insolvent corporation
    Sales
    139 million euros (2012)
    Employees
    731 (2012)

Solche Investitionen begeistern uns.

Unternehmen, die uns liegen, agieren in stabilen Märkten, haben attraktive Marktpositionen und wirtschaften profitabel. Mit unseren insgesamt 225 Millionen Euro Kapital in den beiden Novum Capital-Fonds realisieren wir Nachfolgeregelungen, Carve-outs, Mehrheitsbeteiligungen, Minderheitsbeteiligungen – und vor allem Wachstum und bestmögliche Krisenresilienz. Dabei managen wir auch komplexe Beteiligungsszenarien im Unternehmensinteresse.

  • Wo auch Oscar-Gewinner großartige Filme drehen

    Die 1991 gegründeten MMC Studios verfügen mit dem „Coloneum“ in Köln-Ossendorf über eine der größten und modernsten Film- und TV-Studioflächen Europas. In Deutschland sind die MMC Studios der führende Fullservice-Dienstleister für TV-Shows, TV-Serien und Spielfilme. Zudem finden auf dem Studiogelände Firmenveranstaltungen, Messen, E-Sports- und Gaming-Events statt. MMC Studios erbringen die komplette Leistungspalette auch außerhalb der Studios.

    Im Jahr 2019 hat Novum Capital das Unternehmen mit dem zeitgleich übernommenen Außenübertragungs- und E-Sports-Spezialisten Crosscast fusioniert. Novum Capital erwarb MMC Studios in einem zügigen Auktionsprozess zu den Konditionen, die in der ersten Absichtserklärung festgelegt worden waren.

    Branche
    Unterhaltung
    Investiert
    Seit 2019
    Situation
    Erwerb von einem Private Equity-Fonds in einer Auktion
    Umsatz
    44 Mio. Euro (2019)
    Mitarbeiter
    115 (2019)
  • Weil süßer Genuss zeitlos ist

    Die 1956 gegründete Schluckwerder Gruppe ist der führende Marzipan-, Nougat- und Pralinenhersteller für den deutschen Einzelhandel. Zur Unternehmensgruppe gehört auch der traditionsreiche Lübecker Marzipanhersteller Erasmi & Carstens von 1845. Schluckwerder-Produkte gehören in Einzelhandelsketten wie Lidl, Aldi, Penny und Netto zum Stammsortiment. Insgesamt verkauft die mehr als 550 Mitarbeiter große Unternehmensgruppe ihre Süßwaren in 44 Länder. Die Produktionsstandorte sind Adendorf und Lübeck.

    Novum Capital setzte parallel zum Transaktionsvollzug ein neues Management ein, bestehend aus CEO, COO und CFO. Damit konnte Altgesellschafter Rolf Schluckwerder, wie von ihm gewünscht, aus dem Unternehmen aussteigen.

    Branche
    Süßwaren
    Investiert
    Seit 2019
    Situation
    Nachfolgeregelung
    Umsatz
    99 Mio. Euro (2019)
    Mitarbeiter
    556 (2019)
  • Wo Schlacke plötzlich Gold wert wird

    Die 1969 gegründete C.C. Umwelt ist ein führender Komplettentsorger und Verwerter von Müllverbrennungsabfällen. Ihr sehr stabiles Kerngeschäft besteht aus der Entsorgung, Aufbereitung und Verwertung von Müllverbrennungsschlacken, der Entsorgung von Rauchgasreinigungsmassen (Filterstäube) aus Müllverbrennungsanlagen sowie aus der Aufbereitung und Entsorgung mineralischer Spezialabfälle. Dafür betreibt die in Krefeld ansässige C.C. Umwelt weitere Standorte in Hagen, Würzburg, Schwandorf, Bleicherode/Sollstedt, Hamm und Menteroda. Das Unternehmen ist der einzige deutsche Filterstaubentsorger mit proprietärem Zugang zu einem Versatzbergwerk mit Langzeitsicherheit.

    Durch die Rückgewinnung von jährlich ca. 70 000 Tonnen Metall (u. a. Eisen, Aluminium, Kupfer, Gold und Silber) aus der Aufbereitung von Schlacken und mineralischen Abfällen reduziert C.C. Umwelt die Treibhausgasemissionen um etwa eine halbe Million Tonnen im Jahr im Vergleich zur Metallproduktion aus primären Rohstoffquellen. Außerdem verringert die Wiederverwendung von ca. 950 000 Tonnen C.C. Umwelt-Material als Ersatzbaustoff das Abbauvolumen von Baurohstoffen wie z. B. Kies oder Sand und senkt den Deponiebedarf entsprechend.

    Novum Capital hat die C.C. Umwelt Firmengruppe rechtlich und organisatorisch neu ausgerichtet, technisch modernisiert und wieder aufs Kerngeschäft fokussiert.

    Branche
    Aufbereitung und Verwertung von HMV-Schlacke
    Investiert
    Seit 2018
    Situation
    Übernahme von 6 Stiftungen
    Umsatz
    65 Mio. Euro (2019)
    Mitarbeiter
    120 (2019)
  • Weil Umweltschutz ein Trend auf Dauer bleibt

    Die 1986 gegründete Firma VulkaTec Riebensahm ist deutscher Marktführer für vulkanische Pflanzsubstrate (z. B. für Dachbegrünungen und Baumsanierungen) und vulkanische Industrieproduktrohstoffe (z. B. für Trink- und Abwasserfiltration, Lärmschutz und Oberflächenbehandlung). Ihr Hauptsitz ist Kretz/Andernach. Hinzu kommen sechs Niederlassungen in Deutschland und fünf weitere Standorte im angrenzenden Ausland.

    Novum Capital hat eine erfolgreiche Nachfolgeregelung für Gesellschafter Dirk Riebensahm ermöglicht. Und ein profitables Umsatz- und Mitarbeiterwachstum um 50 Prozent im Beteiligungszeitraum mitgestaltet. Im März 2020 hat Novum Capital VulkaTec an das Familienunternehmen Bauder veräußert. Bauder ist mit 1 066 Mitarbeitern und 675 Millionen Euro Jahresumsatz (2019) der deutsche Marktführer für Flachdach-Systeme.

    Branche
    Stadt- und Dachbegrünung
    Investiert
    2015 bis 2020
    Situation
    Nachfolgeregelung mit komplexem Gesellschafterkreis
    Umsatz
    25 Mio. Euro (2019)
    Mitarbeiter
    75 (2019)
  • Wo Haut erfolgreich behandelt wird

    Die 2008 in den Krankenhausplan des Freistaats Bayern aufgenommene PsoriSol-Hautklinik in Hersbruck bei Nürnberg ist mit 150 Betten und mehr als 4 000 stationären Patienten pro Jahr die größte akut-stationäre Hautklink Deutschlands. Und eine der leistungsstärksten Hautklinken in Europa. Behandlungsschwerpunkte sind entzündliche Hauterkrankungen wie Schuppenflechte, Neurodermitis und Tumore.

    Als Plankrankenhaus nach § 108 SGB V ist PsoriSol gründungsberechtigt für Medizinische Versorgungszentren (MVZ).

    Branche
    Gesundheitswesen
    Investiert
    2018 bis 2019
    Situation
    Nachfolgeregelung
    Umsatz
    13 Mio. Euro (2018)
    Mitarbeiter
    132 (2018)
  • Weil gutes Essen top verpackt sein muss

    Die 1966 gegründete ES-Plastic produziert Lebensmittelverpackungen wie Schalen, Deckel, Becher, Sortiereinlagen und Folien – vor allem für Fertiggerichte und Frischfleisch. Bei Polypropylen-Schalen für das Verpacken unter Schutzatmosphäre (englisch Modified Atmosphere Packaging, kurz MAP) ist ES-Plastic marktführend. Das MAP-System macht verpackte Lebensmittel länger haltbar.

    Novum Capital hat das Unternehmen nach der Übernahme restrukturiert und Vertrauen bei Kunden wie Tönnies, Wiesenhof, Kaufland und Edeka zurückgewonnen. So wurde ES-Plastic wieder zukunftsfähig. Heute gehört das Unternehmen zur französischen Proplast Packaging Group, die mit dem Erwerb ihre Wettbewerbsposition in Europa verbessert hat.

    Branche
    Lebensmittelverpackungen
    Investiert
    2012 bis 2014
    Situation
    Carve-out aus insolventem Schweizer Konzern
    Umsatz
    41 Mio. Euro (2014)
    Mitarbeiter
    241 (2014)
  • Wie Lautes leise erfolgreich ist

    FAIST ChemTec stellt Entdröhnungsfolien her, die hohe Lärmlevel dämpfen und zum Beispiel in Autos, Maschinen und Haushaltsgeräten („weiße Ware“) verbaut werden. FAIST ChemTec produziert in Deutschland, Polen, Spanien und den USA. Der europäische Marktanteil des Unternehmens lag bei Erwerb in 2010 bei 60 Prozent.

    Der übernommene Geschäftsbereich gehörte zum Automobilzulieferer AKsys, der zum Zeitpunkt der Transaktion insolvent war. Die Entdröhnungssparte war jedoch hochprofitabel und eigenständig entwicklungsfähig. Novum Capital ermöglichte es dem Unternehmer Michael Faist gemeinsam mit dem Co-Investor Hannover Finanz, den Geschäftsbereich der Entdröhnungsfolien in ein eigenständiges Unternehmen zu überführen und erfolgreich neu zu positionieren. Der Kauf wurde in Rekordzeit durchgeführt und die Firma entwickelte sich im Anschluss sehr erfolgreich. Heute gehört FAIST ChemTec zum Schweizer Baustoffkonzern Sika, einem Hersteller bauchemischer Produkte wie Dicht- und Klebstoffe.

    Branche
    Automobilindustrie, Haushaltsgeräte
    Investiert
    2010 bis 2012
    Situation
    Carve-out aus insolventem Konzern
    Umsatz
    139 Mio. Euro (2012)
    Mitarbeiter
    731 (2012)